Yamaha Blaster - No Compression

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha Blaster - No Compression

I know this site has a ton of sand car and SxS topics but how about a quad topic. I’m going to have to tear down my sons Blaster AGAIN and have the top end re built. Now I’m no mechanic. Think LRS but completely opposite. But I’ve got a service manual and YouTube so I got this.

I bought my son a 2001 Blaster off of gd.com board member in October of 2017. The bike sat for years before so I’ve got no clue if/when it was last re-built. He had the carb gone through and wanted to sell it. It had a great price tag so if I had to re-build it, it wasn’t a big deal.

First trip out to in January of 2018, it would would run fine while it was cold but would die when it warmed up. Had very little compression when warm. Figured the the rings were bad or it needed to be bored. My brother in law and I tore it down and it was warped so I took it to Q&E in Anaheim to have it bored 1 over. I wanted to keep it as close to stock as possible for my son who is still learning to ride.

Got it back a month or so later and put it together for our summer trip. Also did the oil block off kit and new reeds. We did 10 days of riding with zero issues. Did the proper break in per the manual/internet and everything ran great. Ran it 40 to 1 oil/gas and checked the plug every so often to make sure it wasn’t leaning out. Couldn’t get out for our first Glamis trip until Super Bowl weekend due to my work obligations. Bike ran fine on Friday with zero issues.